2019: Cross River SSG, commissioners, others quit Gov. Ayade’s cabinet

Top political appointees of Governor Ben Ayade of Cross River State have resigned their appointments, ahead of the 2019 general election.

Owojela’s Blog learnt that about five political appointees have forwarded their resignation letters to Governor Ayade who was said to have given his approval.
The affected appointees are: Commissioner for Education, Mr Godwin Ettah, the
Secretary to the State Government, Mrs Tina Agbor, Commissioner for Works, Mr Osim Asu, Commissioner for Commerce, Peter Egba, Commissioner for New Cities, George Ekpungu and several other Special Advisers and Personal Assistants to the governor.
Governor Ayade had given an ultimatum to political appointees who are interested in contesting for elective positions, to resign their appointments.
The Commissioner for Education, Ettah had on Wednesday said that his resignation to contest for the position of Senator for the Central Senatorial District of the state was based on the need to have a humble and competent person who can deliver the dividends of democracy and ensure effective representation of the people.
“Most times in a contest like this, so many arguments are put forward by many aspirants just to get elected but when the wrong person gets the position the people suffer and that should not be the case this time,” Ettah said.